Decision Time – Brooks Saddle

Brooks Saddle - B66 model

Greetings, Bike Speed Readers –

As my cycling mileage has increased (200 miles in June), I’ve come to the conclusion that the original “cushy” seat on my Electra Townie is actually causing me problems rather than comfort. I’ve heard all the reasons that my bike is not meant for the distances that I have been riding – up to 45 miles at a stretch. But, it’s “my bike” and I love it! So, in the interest of a “better ride” – meaning no saddle sores – I am considering moving up to a Brooks saddle. The question is, which one? I thought that several of you might have an opinion on this matter.

Here is the Brooks website as a point of reference – Brooks Saddles

I first looked under the “Touring and Trekking” category and considered the B17 Standard. A local cycling expert pointed out that it might not be the best choice, since it’s designed more for a road bike.

Now I’m perusing the “City and Heavy Duty” category. I am weighing the pros and cons of a “classically sprung” seat for a smoother ride. Brooks describes this seat as follows, “The B66 is the ideal all-rounders for daily city or touring use in a rather upright posture. They are most appropriate for cyclists who set their handlebars higher than their saddles. In general, the more upright your riding posture, the wider, and more heavily sprung, the saddle you should choose.” Townies do position the rider in a very upright position, so this seems to be the right style.

I’m am looking at two other choices as well – the B73 and the B135. I eliminated the B33 since reviews reported that the springs break. I took the B190 out of the running. While the B190 is Brooks’ widest seat, I don’t believe that I would gain any efficiency from the width and, in fact, feel that a wide seat is part of the reason for the discomfort with my current seat when riding longer distances.

As you can see from the suggested prices, this is an “investment.” Current Brooks reviews, however, speak of this as a “Lifetime Investment” since they rave about having the same seat for decades.

Of course, I could always avoid the entire “seat” issue altogether and just purchase a Catrike, but I consider that an “expansion of the fleet” rather than a replacement.

Some have found it intriguing that I have gone with Shimano clipless pedals on my Townie, so why not go all the way and upgrade to a Brook saddle while I’m at it.

I welcome your thoughts and recommendations.

One thought on “Decision Time – Brooks Saddle

  1. Because of your riding position, you definitely want to go with a saddle with springs, so your choice is actually between the B67 and the Flyer. Since you sit so upright on that particular model of bike, I would have to say go with the B67.

    The B66 is a model to be used with traditional, “candlestick” style seatposts, I assume the Townie would have a modern microadjust seatpost, but I could be wrong.

Leave a Reply

